Dictionary Of Hindu Religion | Dictionary


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary



A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P-Q  R  S  T-U  V-W-X  Y-Z

Descendents of King Yayaati's eldest son, Yadu. His descendents extended their empire far and wide into Bundelkhand region under the name of Chedi and in Naagpur region under the name of Vidarbh. Historical evidence is available to claim that various branches of Yaadav continued to rule for 23 or more generations. The most illustrious Yaadav was Shree Krishn who is also called Yaadav.

Yaam    see     Prahar

There are 7 main Yaamal Tantra - (1) Brahm Yaamal - available , (2) Vishnu Yaamal, (3) Rudra Yaamal - available, (4) Aadi Yaamal, (5) Skand Yaamal, (6) Koorm Yaamal and (7) Devee Yaamal - available.


(1) Traveling or travel.  (2) Teerth Yaatraa or pilgrimage.

Yagya   see also  Yagya;   Panch Yagya
Yagya-2 - As a Vaidik ritual
Yagya-3 - Things needed to perform Yagya, Yagya, the most effective remedy.
Ygaya-4 - Names of some Yagya

Yagya means Hom or Havan and Shaalaa means place, so Yagya Shaalaa means "the area of the site where the main priests sit to perform your Yagya".


It is a religion - Judaism or Jewish Faith. Judaism is perhaps the second oldest faith coming after Hinduism. It was founded by Abraaham about 1500 BC in the region now known as Syria and Israel. During the 14th century BC, a severe famine occurred in their homeland and there was a mass movement to Egypt where they were enslaved. When they dribbled out from Egypt, it was called Exodus.

Since Braahman's duties are study and teaching, doing Yagya for himself and others, when they perform any ceremony for any Kshatriya or Vaishya or Shoodra, those people are his Yajamaan. As the work is complete, Yajamaan gives Dakshinaa to him.

A non-Aaryan tribe which inhabited India and Shree Lankaa along with Raakshas and Naag tribes during the times of Shree Raam. Yaksh were later considered a class of semi-Divine beings with Kuber as their head because Yaksh were good people.


(1) Instrument.  (2) Machine.  (3) In astrology Yantra is used for various Devtaa to worship for achieving desired results, or to fulfill desired wish. It is a diagram, a physical thing, carved on metal or wood, or drawn on paper or anything, or say a geometrical figure drawn on a paper, engraved on a metal (copper, silver, or gold etc) piece. These patters are different for every Devtaa or Devee. They are energized by Pandit to be able to work in a desired way. Then these are given to the person who wishes to worship them. They are supposed to fulfill one's wish. But in all types of worship the main thing is Mantra, Mantra is soul of Tantra. Tantra is the Body, and Mantra is the soul. There is no Tantra or Yantra separate from Mantra and vise versa.

(1) A Bhikshu, who subsists on alms.
(2) As a Bhramar dies after arresting himself in a lotus flower in the evening because of its fragrance, in the same way a Yati is also destroyed by eating food from one house because of taste.

(1) Grains.   (2) Barley   see also   Cereals for other grains  
(3) 6 yellow mustard seeds     see also  
  Weight-Measurement    for other measures
[Bhavishya Puraan, 1/3] 


Yog Choodaamani
The name of an Upanishad from 108 Upanishad.

Yog Maayaa
God's power for miracle.

Yog Nidraa
The sleep of meditation. Personified delusion. State of contemplation in half sleep with full exercise of mental powers. When Vishnu sleeps in waters after destroying everything (after Pralaya time); or when His night falls and He sleeps, that state is called Yog Nidraa.

Yog Sootra

Yog Vashishth

Posture for meditation.

(1) Who practices Yog.
(2) As Yog means being united with something, a Yogee is he who unites himself with God.

Another name of Shree Krishn.

Another name of Shree Krishn.

(1) A sorceress.
(2) One of the Maatrikaa, attendants of Kaalee.
The Yoginee are eight female demons attendant on Durgaa. Their names are Maarjanee, Karpoor-Tilak, Malaya-gandhinee Kaumudikaa, Bherundaa, Maatali, Naayakee, and Jaya or Shubhaachaar; Su-lakshanaa, Su-nandaa.

Yojan    see also    Distance-Measurement  Soorya Siddhaant
Ancient measurement of distance in India.
1 Yojan = 4 Kos = 12 Kms = approx 9 miles
1 Kos = 2 and a 1/4 miles

Attached with. [eg, Horses are yoked to a vehicle]

(1) Female organ, the passage through which the child birth takes place
(2) Form of life.
(3) Species, for example, Manushya Yoni - human body; Dev Yoni - the body of Devtaa; Tiryak Yoni - all living beings born in Tiryak Yoni are of very low species, such as, worms, birds, creepers, animals, insects etc. Aasuree Yoni - it is the same as Tiryak Yoni. Among all the Yoni, Manushya Yoni is Karm Yoni and other Yoni are bhog Yoni because it is only Manushya who cannot live without doing any Karm after taking birth, while other cannot do any work (actions) by which they can uplift themselves.

Yoop    see also   Tadaag
When a tank is first dug out, a thick column or piece of wood is driven into its center that is called Yoop or Naag Stambh.


Yogee. A Yogee who has just started practicing Yog, is called Yunjaan.

Zero    see    Sankhyaa

Zodiac   see also   Zodiac
Scientifically, Zodiac is an imaginary belt, 16 degree wide, around the Earth, in which 12 Raashi (Signs) have been imagined. This means that the 12 equal divisions named Mesh, Vrish etc Signs of that imaginary belt are also all the more imaginary. Some scholars claim that the Babylonians have invented the zodiac of 360 degrees around 700 BCE, perhaps even earlier and India has got the knowledge of the zodiac from Babylonia or even later from Greece. However, as old as the Rig Ved, the oldest Vedic text, there are clear references to a Chakra or wheel of 360 spokes placed in the sky. The number 360 and its related numbers like 12, 24, 36, 48, 60, 72, 108, 432 and 720 occur commonly in Vaidik symbolism. It is in the hymns of the Rishi Deerghtamaa (Rig Ved 1.140-164) that we have the clearest such references.

Zodiac Signs    see also    Raashi    Sankraanti,   Vishuv Yog,   
There are 12 signs through which Sun transits in one year - (1) Mesh (Aries), (2) Vrish or Vrishabh (Taurus), (3) Mithun (Gemini), (4) Kark (Cancer), (5) Sinh (Leo), (6) Kanyaa (Virgo), (7) Tulaa (Libraa),  (8) Vrishchik (Scorpio), (9) Dhanu (Sagittarius) (10) Makar (Capricorn), (11) Kumbh (Aquarius), (12) Meen (Pisces).


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary



Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/06
Updated on 03/04/14