Astrology | Miscellanea


Home | Astrology | Miscellanea


Back to Miscellanea | Next

See also    Signs

Zodiac is an imaginary belt of 12 animal-like structures (these little animal-like structures being recognized by joining the fixed stars within the belt) stretching about 8 North and about 8 South of the ecliptic, within which the planets and the Moon apparently remain in course of their movement." Thus the Zodiac comprises of the 12 Signs (Raashi), and 27 Nakshatra (constellations) within those 12 Signs with their 4 Pad (parts).

Astrology is a science and every rule in astrology has relationship with Astronomy. The zodiac is not just an imaginary belt. It has its roots on orbit of planets. The entire sequence of Dashaa, Horaa, the Day formation, the Raahu Kaal, Lagna, Muhoort and Naadee every thing has specific order.

How did they come into existence - Zodiac is designed by God Varun, Month's system was created by Sage Atri and Division of Nakshatra into Raashi is done by Daksh Prajapati, and offspring of Sage Vashishth, discovered various solar systems.

The Zodiac was not divided into 27 equal parts before. Before the equal division of 27 Nakshatra came into vogue, there were unequal divisions among the Nakshatra. For example, as Rohinee was larger Nakshatra in size and Chandra spent more time in Rohinee (because he loved Rohinee more than his other wives). The Pauraanik story about it is that when Daksh married his 27 daughters to Chandramaa, he put a condition that Chandramaa will love his all wives equally. But later Chandramaa started loving Rohinee the most, so his other wives complained to their father Daksh (Daksh incidentally has the head of a Mesh (Aries), ie., Ram or goat) that Chandra was spending more time with Rohinee. Daksh saw to it the Chandra spends time with his 27 daughter equally.

With this story, first Chandramaa was spending more time with Rohinee, but later Daksh made sure that Chandramaa was spending equal time with his all 27 wives. That Daksh could mean the Mesh Raashi. These 27 Nakshatra and the 12 Raashi are required for astrology. That does not mean that one cannot invoke the 28 Nakshatra for the Vaidik / Braahmanik rituals. Recently there was an astronomical report that in the Mahaabhaarat times there was indeed a bright visible star in between U-Aashaadhaa (its 4th Pad) and 1/16th part of Shravan Nakshtara and that was a dying Supernova. This is contrary to general thinking that Abhijeet is a Vega, which moved away from the ecliptic.

--Taittireeya Sanhitaa (4.4.10) and Taittireeya Braahman (1.5.1) where we have the mention of the Nakshatra starting from Krittikaa. Thus we had the custom to start from Krittikaa Nakshatra which means that the Vernal Equinox occurred when the Sun was in Krittikaa Nakshatra.
--Vedaang Jyotish and Taittireeya Sanhitaa also begins their Nakshatra series from Krittikaa but that never means that the Zodiac Belt also begins with Kriittikaa Nakshatra.
--In the same way, Tantra Literature begins its Nakshtra series from Bharanee, but that never means that Zodiac also begins with Bharanee.
Vaidik Sages fixed that Samvatsar will start from Phaalgun Poornimaa and Zodiac will start from the Ashwinee Nakshtra's initial point.
Vaidik sages are also certain that Moola is the Nakshatra which points to root of the Universe creation the galactic center.

A Graha, Upagraha and Lagna (Lagna, Horaa/Ghatee/Bhaav Lagna) is always posited
(a) in a Raashi
(b) in various divisions of a Raashi (Ansh)
- Ansh of Wealth and Prosperity: Horaa, Chathurthaansh and Shodashaansh
- Ansh of Desires, Ambitions, Potential/Happiness and Activities: Drekkaan, Navaansh, Bhaansh, Nava-Navaansh
- Ansh of Kaarmik Influences: Dwadashaansh, Shasthiyaansh, Khavedaansh and Aksh-vedaansh
- Ansh of Contacts and Deeds, Important Activities and Results: Saptamsas and Dasamsas
- Ansh of Spirituality and Formation: Vinshansas and Chaturvinshansh
(c) in a Bhaav (field, House)
(d) in a Nakshatra

Navaansh are a potency of Drekkaan - D-3 (D-9 = 3x3),
Shodashaansh are a potency of Chaturvinshaansh - D-4 (D-16 = 4x4).
Drekkaan / Navaansh are based on Trikon,
Chaturvinshaansh / Shodashaansh are based on Kendra.
Odd numbers (male) are related to ambitions and activities,
even numbers (female) are related to wealth and prosperity.

As some Varg are closely related to each other the analysis must be in the sequence:
1. All Themes: Raashi - Nakshatra - Navaansh
2. Ambitions, Desires, Happiness: Raashi - Drekkaan - Navaansh - Bhaansh - Nava-Navaansh
3. Wealth, Prosperity: Raashi - Horaa - Chaturthaansh - Shodashaansh
4. Karmic Influences, Conditionings: Raashi - Dwaadashaansh - Shashthiyaansh - Khavedaansh - Akshavedaansh
5. Contacts and Results thereof, Results in general: Saptamaansh - Dashaansh
6. Formation, Education: Chaturthaansh - Chaturvinshaansh
7. Spirituality, Religious Matters: Vinshaansh

Movable Quality Raashi (Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn): energetic, establishing, initiatives
Fixed Quality Raashi (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius): stable and stabilizing, securing, accumulating
Dual Quality Raashi (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces): extending, informing, change and exchange

Fire Element (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) : active and energetic aim fulfillment, ambitions, self oriented
Earth Element (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn): practical, putting into manifestation, accumulating material wealth
Air Element (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius): communicating, learning and extending, theoretical
Water Element (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces): emotional, relating to inner world, social oriented



Home | Astrology | Miscellanea


Back to Miscellanea | Next

Created and Maintained by Sushma Gupta
Created on 05/18/2008 and Updated on 10/24/2012