Dictionary Of Hindu Religion | Dictionary


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary

Types of Body

Back to B | Back to Body

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P-Q  R  S  T-U  V-W-X  Y-Z
Types of Body

Physical Body
Disciple - "What are the components of the physical body?"
Guru - "The physical body is composed of five elements, viz, earth (Prithvi), water (Apah), fire (Tejas), air (Vaayu) and space (Aakaash)."

Disciple - "What are the seven primary essences (Sapt-Dhaatu) of the physical body?"
Guru - "Chyle (Ras), blood (Asra), flesh (Maans), fat (Med), bone (Asthi), marrow (Majjaa) and semen (Shukla or Veerya), are the seven primary essences of the physical body."

Disciple - "What are the Shad Bhaav Vikaar (six modifications of the body)?"
Guru - "Asti (existence), Jayate (birth), Vardhate (growth), Viparinamate (change), Apaksheeyate (decay), Vinaashyate (death), are the six modifications or changes of the body."

Disciple - "What are the links with which this body is connected?"
Guru - "The body (Deha), action (Karm), love and hate (Raag-Dwesh), egoism (Ahankaar), non-discrimination (A-Vivek) and ignorance (A-Gyaan) are the seven links of the chain of Sansaar (world-experience) . From A-Gyaan (ignorance)
is born A-Vivek. A-Vivek is non-discrimination between the real and the unreal. From A-Vivek is born Ahankaar or egoism; from egoism is born Raag-Dwesh (liking and disliking); from Raag-Dwesh arises Karm (action); and from Karm the body or the Deha is produced. If you want to free yourself from the pain of birth and death, destroy your ignorance (Agyaan) - the root cause of this Sansaar (world-experience), through the attainment of the Knowledge of Brahm (Shivam) or the Absolute. When ignorance is removed, all the other links will be broken by themselves. This physical body of yours is the result of your past actions and is the seat of your enjoyment of pleasure and pain.

Disciple - "Why is the body called Shareer or Deha?"
Guru - "Because the body decays (Sheeryate) on account of old age, it is called Shareer and because it is cremated or burnt (Dahyate) it is called Deha."

The Subtle Body
Disciple - "What is the composition of the subtle body?"
Guru - "The subtle body is composed of nineteen principles (Tattwa), viz, five Gyaan Indriyaan or organs of knowledge, five Karm Indriyaan or organs of action, five Praan or vital airs, Manas or mind, Buddhi or intellect, Chitta or the subconscious and Ahankaar or the ego. It is a means of enjoying pleasure and pain."

Disciple - "When will this subtle body get dissolved?"
Guru - "It gets dissolved in Videh Mukti or disembodied Liberation."

The Causal Body
Disciple - "What is the causal body (Kaaran Shareer)?"
Guru - "The beginningless ignorance that is indescribable is called the causal body. It is the cause of the gross and the subtle bodies."

Disciple - "How can I transcend the three bodies?"
Guru - "Identify yourself with the All-pervading, Eternal Aatmaa (Shivam). Stand as a witness (Saakshee) of all experiences. Know that the Aatmaa is always like a king-distinct from the body, organs, vital breaths, mind, intellect, ego and Prakriti - the Witness of their attributes."


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary


Back to B | Back to Body

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/06
Updated on 07/08/11