Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan | 1-Pratham Ansh

1-Brahm Puraan2-Padm Puraan3-Vishnu Puraan4-Shiv Puraan5-Bhaagvat Puraan,
6-Naarad Puraan,   7-Maarkandeya Puraan8-Agni Puraan9-Bhavishya Puraan,
10-Brahm Vaivart Puraan11-Ling Puraan12-Varaah Puraan13-Skand Puraan,
14-Vaaman Puraan15-Koorm Puraan16-Matsya Puraan17-Garud Puraan18-Brahmaand Puraan


1-Pratham Ansh

Home | Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan


1-Pratham Ansh | Previous | Next

14-Vishnu's Vibhooti and Organization of the World
3-Vishnu Puraan, 1-Pratham Ansh, p 99-103

Vishnu's Vibhooti 

Paraashar asked - "In earlier times when Maharshi appointed Raajaa Prithu as their king, then Brahmaa also divided the kingdom properly.

He appointed Chandramaa on Grah (planets), Nakshatra (constellations), Braahman, all herbs, Yagya and Tap. Vishravaa's son Kuber was appointed as the ruler over kings; Varun over waters; Vishnu over Aaditya; Agni over Vasu. Daksh was appointed as the chief of Prajaapati; Indra as the chief of Marud Gan; Prahlaad as the chief of Daitya and Daanav. Dharm Raaj was appointed as the chief of Pitar; Airaavat as the chief of all elephants; Garud over all birds; Indra over all Devtaa; Uchchshraivaa over all the horses and Vrishabh was appointed as the chief of cows. Lion was appointed over all wild animals; Shesh Naag over all all kinds of Naag; Himaalaya over all immovable; Kapil Jee over all Muni; and Pluksh (Palaash) tree over all kinds of trees. Thus Brahmaa appointed other chiefs also.

Then Brahmaa appointed the Lords of directions. He appointed Sudhanvaa, the son of Vairaaj Prajaapati, in East direction; Shankhpad Prajaapati, the son of Kardam Rishi, in South direction; Ketumaan, the son of Rajas, in West direction; and Hiranyaromaa, the son of Prajaapati Paranjaya, in North direction. They are still taking care of their dependents according to their divisions. These and other kings, all are the forms of Vishnu's Vibhooti.

Whoever are the Lords of Devtaa, Daitya, Daanav, animals, birds, human beings, snakes, Naag, trees, planets etc, all are the part of Vishnu. There is nobody else who can take care of the whole Universe. It is only He who creates at the time of Creation, takes care of His Creation and destroys in the form of Kaal (Time).

He creates the Universe with four forms, takes care of it with four forms and destroys it all with four forms. With one part He is Brahmaa, with another part He is Mareechi etc Prajaapati, His third part is Kaal (Time), and fourth part is all living beings. In this way with the help of Rajo Gun He exists at the time of Creation. Then with the help of Sat Gun, He establishes the Universe. At that time He maintains it in the form of Vishnu with His one part; becomes Manu etc with His second part; being Kaal as His third part He establishes Himself in all living and non-living beings.

In the end, He takes help of Tamo Gun and appears as Rudra with His one part, as Agni with His second  part, Kaal with His third part, and with His fourth part He become all living and non-living being. To destroy the Universe, He has thus four types of forms.

(1) Brahmaa, Daksh etc Prajaapati, Kaal and all living beings, these four Vibhooti are the causes of the Creation of the Universe. 
(2) Vishnu, Manu etc, Kaal and all living and non-living beings are the Vibhooti of Vishnu as the maintainer of the Universe; and 
(3) Rudra, Kaal, Agni, and all living and non-living creatures are His four forms as the destroyer of the Universe.

In the beginning, middle and after the Pralaya (deluge) also Brahmaa and Mareechi etc create different kinds of beings. In the beginning of the Creation, first Brahmaa creates, then Mareechi etc Prajaapati create, and after that all living beings produce their children all the time. Without Kaal nobody - Brahmaa, Prajaapati or living beings can create anything. There Vishnu's Kaal form is the cause of all Creation.

Whoever being creates anything, Shree Hari only is the cause of that Creation. Thus, the destroyer is also Shree Hari's Rudra form. Still His own status (which is above these three) is Nir-Gun (without attributes) because all this He does with the help of three Gun and thus He himself remains without attributes). That Nir-Gun form is also of four types."

Maitreya Jee asked - "Hey Muni, How this Parampad (ultimate form) is of four kinds? I wish to know this." Paraashar said - "Whatever is the cause of all things, is the means of those things also, as the efforts are made for a desired thing, the same is called the objective (Saadhya). For Yogee, who desire for Moksh, Praanaayaam etc are the means and Brahm is the objective from where one does not come back.

The Gyaan or knowledge (about Praanaayaam etc), which is the cause of Moksh of the Yogee, is the first form of the Brahm. To be free from sorrows, Yogee's objective, the Gyaan about Him (Aalamban Vigyaan) is His second form. The Gyaan (about both the means and the objective) of whose form is one is His third form. And Hey Muni, after making out the inferences of all this Gyaan whatever is experienced by a person is Called Brahm - named Gyaan. This is His fourth form. Whoever Yogee regard this Gyaan daily, leaving other kinds of Gyaan, in spite of doing Karm, they live without desires within the world. And the same is called Parampad of Vishnu.

This Brahm is of two types - tangible and non-tangible (abstract); or Kshar and A-Kshar. A-Kshar is this Param Brahm; and Kshar is the whole world. As the light is spread all around, this whole world is is the power of Param Brahm. As the intensity of light depends on the nearness or farness of the fire, in the same way powers of Brahm are also relative.

Brahmaa, Vishnu, Mahesh are three main powers of Brahm. Inferior to them are the powers of Devtaa; inferior to the powers of Devtaa are the powers of Daksh etc. Inferior to Daksh's powers are the powers of human beings, animals, birds deer, snakes etc; and inferior to their powers are the powers of trees, creepers etc. This whole world, with Creation and destruction, birth and death is in fact daily and eternal."

Maitreya Jee asked - "Hey Muni, How does Vishnu maintain this world with His ornaments and weapons?" Paraashar Jee said - "Now I tell you that whatever Vashishth Jee told me. He puts the Kshetraj form of this world in the form of Kaustubh Mani (which He wears on His chest). He puts Pradhaan in the form of Shree Vats mark; and wisdom in His Gadaa form. Taamas Ahankaar and Raajas Ahankaar which are the causes of all Creation, He has in  and Shaarng bow forms. Saatwik Ahankaar is in His Chakra (Divine disc) form. His Vaijayantee Maalaa, which is made of pearl (Motee), ruby (Laal), emerald (Pannaa), blue sapphire (Indraneel or Neelam), and diamond (Heeraa), is the form of Panch Tanmaatraa and Panch Bhoot. Both Gyaan and Karm Indriyaan are with Him as His arrow. Gyaan, hidden in A-Vidyaa (darkness or ignorance) itself, is His sword. Thus Purush, Pradhaan, Buddhi, Ahankaar, Panch Bhoot, mind, Indriyaan and Vidyaa and A-Vidyaa all are dependent on Hrisheekesh.

Thus being formless, He still keeps all these in the form of weapons and ornaments.

Bhoo Lok, Bhuv Lok, Swarg Lok, Maha Lok, Jan Lok, Tap Lok, Satya Lok - all these seven Lok are Bhagvaan Himself. Rig Ved, Yajur Ved, Atharv Ved, Saam Ved, Itihaas (Raamaayan and Mahaabhaarat), Upaved (Aayurved), sayings of Vedaant, all parts of Ved, Manu - all are the body of Vishnu. Whatever tangible and non-tangible things are in Trilok, all are His bodies.

Vishnu Puraan-Pratham Ansh Ends Here



Home | Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan


1-Pratham Ansh | Previous | Next

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/05
Updated on 05/15/13