Dictionary Of Hindu Religion | Dictionary


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary


Back to G

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P-Q  R  S  T-U  V-W-X  Y-Z
see also    Graha Devtaa;     Upagraha

Planets.  According to Hindu astrology, there are nine planets - (1) Soorya (the Sun - red in color), (2) Chandra (the Moon - white in color), (3) Mangal or Kujaa (Mars - tawny in color), (4) Budh (Mercury - pale in color), (5) Brihaspati or Guru (Jupiter - yellow in color), (6) Shukra (Venus - white in color), (7) Shani (Saturn - black in color), (8) Raahu (variegated in color), and (9) Ketu Raahu (variegated in color). Our Prithvi (the Earth) is also a planet, but it is not counted as planet while seeing other planets' affect on Prithvi or its people. Read about Ratn or gems according to Graha  at Ratn. All Graha have their own Devtaa, read about them at  Graha Devtaa. Westerners have three other planets also - Uranus, Plato, and Neptune.
[Read more about Planets in Bhaagvat Puraan, 5/7]

Western astrologers have 10 planets (1) Soorya (the Sun), (2) Chandra (the Moon), (3) Mangal or Kujaa (Mars), (4) Budh (Mercury), (5) Brihaspati or Guru (Jupiter), (6) Shukra (Venus), (7) Shani (Saturn), (8) Herschel (Prajaapati), (9) Neptune (Varun), (10) Pluto (Yam)

The Ancient Indians, were well aware of these planets as under - Herschel (Prajaapati), Neptune (Varun), and Pluto (Yam), but they also knew that these planets were far away in their orbits to make any significant effects on the human race, that is the reason why they have not included the effects of these planets in the classics and texts available with us. Have we not realized finally that the Indians are the smartest when after so many years of considering Pluto as a planet, the West has discarded its "Planetary status", and it is now left as another of the millions of masses of bodies present in the heavenly skies?

We in India do not normally use these planets because we are concerned more of the physical sufferings or requirements of natives like job, wealth, etc. Whereas in foreign countries the analysis is done much for the character and mental afflictions and more of psychological cases where, Neptune and Uranus stand apart and a great help for astrological inferences.

Ancient Sanskrit texts mention Rudra, Indra, and Varun: as three other planets, besides the nine of which Raahu and Ketu are dark planets or shadowy planets, whereas the other seven are bright. The brightest among them are Shukra (Venus) and Guru (Jupiter).


Home | Rel-Dictionary | Dictionary


Back to G

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/06
Updated on 07/16/11