Bhaagvat Puraan | Skandh-5

Skandh 1 Skandh 2 Skandh 3 Skandh 4 Skandh 5 Skandh 6
Skandh 7 Skandh 8 Skandh 9 Skandh 10 Skandh 11 Skandh 12

Skandh 5: Page 7 of 8

Home  | Bhaagvat

Chapters 22-23

Previous  | Next


22- Position of Various Planets and Their Speeds

Pareekshit Jee asked - "Hey Bhagavan,  Clear this more as how Soorya seems to go keeping Meru and Dhruv on right side, while actually he goes towards North." Shuk Dev Jee said - "Hey Raajan, As ant, sitting on a potter's wheel, has different speed than the wheel because it is seen at different places at different times; in the same way, on the Kaal Chakra (wheel of time), the Sun and other planets have different speeds than the wheel, because the Sun is seen in different Signs and Constellations at different times. Ved and learned people are curious to know whose speed, the same Bhagavaan Naraayan divides His time period in 12 months and 6 seasons for the welfare of world and purification of Karm. Bhagavaan Soorya is the soul of the whole Universe. Positioned in the middle of Prithvi and Dyu Lok on Kaal's wheel he enjoys all 12 months which are the parts of Samvatsar (year) and are famous with the names of Mesh (Aries) etc Raashi (signs).

Each month, according to Moon speed, is divided into two Paksh - Shukla and Krishn; according to Pitri speed it is equal to one night and one day; and according to solar speed is equal to two and a quarter Constellations.

One sixth part of this Samvatsar (one year) is called as 'Ritu' (season). Whatever distance in the sky is covered by the Sun, its half the distance is called Ayan time, and in whatever time he covers the whole sky along with Swarg and Prithvi with slow, fast and equal speeds, it is called Samvatsar (one year), Parivatsar, Idaavatsar, Anuvatsar and Vatsar according to different planets (see Time Measurement in India,  and  Time Measurement in India).

The Moon is 100,000 Yojan above the Sun rays. Its speed is very fast that is why he is the first in all Planets to revolve Prithvi. He covers the Sun's path of one year in one month, Sun's path of one month in two and a quarter days, and Sun's path of 15 days in one day only. He divides the day and night of Pitra Gan by receding in Krishn Paksh, and divides the day and night of Devtaa by increasing in Shukla Paksh. He covers one constellation in 30 Muhoort time (30x46 minutes = 1380 minutes = 23 hours). Because he has food and Amrit, he is the life and soul of every living being. He has 16 Kalaa and with them he protects all living beings that is why he is called Sarvamaya (who has everything).

300,000 Yojan above the Moon are 28 constellations, including Abhijit Nakshatra. Bhagavaan has fixed them in the Kaal Chakra, that is why they move keeping Meru Parvat on their right side.

200,000 Yojan above the constellations is seen Shukra (Venus). He moves according to Sun's speeds - slow, equal, and fast, like him - sometimes forward, sometimes backward and sometimes together. This Planet causes rains that is why he is always favorable to all the Lok. It seems from his speed that he calms down those planets that hinder rains.

Mercury (Budh) is Moon's son and is 200,000 Yojan above the Shukra (Venus). It is normally Shubh (favorable) Planet but when he contradicts with the Sun's speed then he predicts for storms, clouds and dry.

200,000 Yojan above the Mercury is Mars. If he does not retrograde, then he covers one Sign in 3 Paksh (6 weeks). This is Ashubh (unfavorable) planet and normally harms people.

200,000 Yojan above the Mars is Bhagavaan Brihaspati (Jupiter). If he does not retrograde then he stays in one sign for one year. He is normally favorable for Braahman.

200,000 Yojan above Brihaspati is Shani (Saturn). He stays in one sign for 30 months, therefore he covers all the signs in 30 years. He is normally bad (unfavorable) for everybody.

1.1 million Yojan above Shani is Kashyap etc Sapt-Rishi (Great Bear). They revolve around Vishnu's Parampad Dhruv Lok always wishing for the welfare of all the Lok.

23-Shishumaar Chakra Description

1.3 million Yojan above Sapt-Rishi is Dhruv Lok (Polar Star). This is called Vishnu's Parampad. Here lives Uttaanpaad's son Dhruv Jee. Agni, Indra, Prajaapati Kashyap and Dharm all revolve around it together. All the Lok which will last till the end of the Kalp are located only according to Dhruv Lok's position, therefore it shines only from one place.

As the animals revolve around a pillar to crush grains - some close to the pillar, some in the middle, some far from the pillar; in the same way all constellations, planets etc revolve around Dhruv Lok, fixed in the Kaal Chakra (wheel of time) with the help of the wind till the end of the Kalp. As the clouds and birds fly in the sky and do not fall down, in the same way all these planets etc revolve around Dhruv Lok and do not fall down on Prithvi.

Some learned people call this wheel as Shishumaar Chakra. This Shishumaar is sitting in curling position to its right side with its mouth downward. On the end of its tail is Dhruv Lok. In the middle part of the tail are Prajaapati, Agni, Indra and Dharm. In the root of its tail are Dhaata and Vidhaata. In the waist area are Sapt-Rishi.

In this position, 14 Constellations of Uttaraayan (January-July), from Abhijit to Punarvasu, are situated at its right hand side; and the other 14 Constellations of Dakshinaayan (July-January), from Pushya to Uttaraa-Aashaadhaa, are situated at its left side.

In its back is Ajaveethee, a group of three constellations - Mool, Poorv-Aashaadaa and Uttar-Aashaadaa; and in its stomach is Aakaash-Gangaa (Milky Way). In its waistline towards right and left are Punarvasu and Pushya constellations. In its right and left hind feet are Aardraa and Aashleshaa constellations, and in its right and left nostrils are Abhijit and Uttaraashaadaa.

In its right and left eyes are Shravan and Poorvaa-Aashaadaa, and in right and left ears are Dhanishthaa and Mool constellations. Maghaa etc eight constellations of Dakshinaayan are in its left chest, and in opposite order are eight Uttaraayan constellations - Mrigshiraa etc Nakshatra; Shatabhishaa and Jyeshthaa are in its right and left shoulders.

In the upper side of its mouth is Agastya Rishi, in the lower side is Yam Raaj, in the mouth is Mangal (Mars), in its genital area is Shani, in the chest is the Sun, in the lungs is Naaraayan, in the heart is the Moon, in the navel is Shukra (Venus), in breasts are Ashwinee Kumaar, in Praan is Budh (Mercury), in the neck is Raahu, in the whole body is Ketu and in all its Rom (fur holes) are all stars.

This is Vishnu's Swaroop with all Dev. One should meditate on this Swaroop daily in morning and in evening. Whosoever does it his all sins are washed away immediately.



Home  | Bhaagvat



Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/9/02
Updated on 09/22/11