Bhaagvat Puraan | Skandh-3

Skandh 1 Skandh 2 Skandh 3 Skandh 4 Skandh 5 Skandh 6
Skandh 7 Skandh 8 Skandh 9 Skandh 10 Skandh 11 Skandh 12

Skandh 3 - Page 5 of 10

Home  | Bhaagvat

Chapter 11

Previous | Next

11-Division of Kaal

Maitreya Jee further said - "Hey Vidur Jee, The smallest and the minutest part of this Prithvi, which cannot be divided further, and which has not joined any other Paramaanu, is called Paramaanu. Also it is called Paramaanu (Param Anu) because whose smallest part it is, that is called Param Mahaan (the largest). At this stage there is neither Pralaya, nor there is anything new or old. Thus these are the smallest and the largest forms. Compared to these two states, you can guess the smallest and the largest forms of Kaal Bhagavaan. Whatever Kaal exists in Paramaanu that is the minutest and whatever Kaal enjoys from the time of Creation to Pralaya, that is called Param Mahaan.

2 Paramaanu = 1 Anu
3 Anu = 1 Trasrenu - this can be seen in sunrays coming from a window flying around
3 Trasrenu
1 Truti - whatever time the Sun takes to cross 3 Trasrenu is called 1 Truti
100 Truti = 1 Vedh
3 Vedh = 1 Lav
3 Lav = 1 Nimesh
3 Nimesh = 1 Kshan - (1 second)
5 Kshan = 1 Kaashthaa - (5 seconds)
15 Kaashthaa = 1 Laghu - (75 seconds)
15 Laghu = 1 Naadikaa - (1 Dand, or 1375 seconds or 23 minutes)
2 Naadikaa = 1 Muhoort - (46 minutes)
6-7 Naadikaa
(not included two Muhoort time of day and night meeting time and according to the time of day and night)
= 1 Prahar or Yaam - (It is 1/4th part of human-day or night = 3 hours)
4 Prahar = 1 Human day or night
8 Prahar = 1 Human day and night
15 Days = 1 Paksh - (1 Pakhawaadaa or Fortnight) Shukl or Krishn
2 Paksh = 1 Maas - (1 Month) (This is one day and night of Pitar)
2 Maas = 1 Ritu - (1 Season)
6 Maas (Months) = 1 Ayan -
Uttaraayan = (Makar (Capricorn) Sankraanti -- Kark (Cancer) Sankraanti or
Dakshinaayan = (Kark (Cancer) Sankraanti -- Makar (Capricorn) Sankraanti)
2 Ayan or 12 Maas (Months) - Samvatsar = 1 Human year - (1 day and night of Devtaa)
100 years = Supposed to be the human age

Bhagavaan Soorya (The Sun) - Swaamee of the Moon etc planets, Ashhwinee etc. constellations and all the stars - revolves around the world in 12 Signs (Raashi) from Paramaanu to Samvatsar time. According to Soorya (Sun), Brahaspati (Jupiter), Savan, Chandramaa (Moon) and constellations these Varsh (years) are called Samvatsar, Parivatsar, Idaavatsar, Anuvatsar and Vatsar. Thus this Soorya is the cause of creating these five types of years. This Soorya Dev is the Tej among Panch Bhoot and with his Kaal power germinates seeds. He wanders in the sky decreasing the age of all living beings, at the same time giving fruits of their good Karm."

Vidur Jee said - "You have told me about the ages of Devtaa, Pitar and human beings. Now what about Sanakaadik Muni's age? They live for more than a Kalp." When Vidur Jee asked this, Maitreya Jee said - "Hey Vidur Jee, Sat Yug, Tretaa Yug, Dwaapar Yug and Kali Yug with their Sandhyaa and Sandhyaansh are as long as Devtaa's 12,000 Divine years. These four Yug contain 4:3:2:1 thousand Divine years and in each Yug whatever thousand years are, their double the years (in hundreds) are of their Sandhyaa and Sandhyaansh. The beginning of the Yug is called Sandhyaa and in the end it is called Sandhyaansh. Their duration is in hundred years and the in-between period of them is called Yug. In each Yug there is one special Dharm. In Sat Yug Dharm exists with its four legs. Then as other Yug come Adharm increases by one leg.

Beyond Tri-Lok, from Mahar Lok, Tapah Lok, to Brahm Lok, 1,000 4-Yug period is one day and the same period of time is one night in which Brahma Jee sleeps (see Beyond Tri-Lok). At the end of that night, the Kalp of this Lok starts and stays till Brahma Jee's day ends. In one Kalp, there are 14 Manu. Each Manu enjoys his reign for a little more than 71 Chatur-Yug period.

71 + 9/16 4-Yug period    =    1 Manu period (Manvantar)
1,000 4-Yug period    =   14 Manu period
1,000 4-Yug period    =   Brahmaa's day
1,000 4-Yug period    =   Brahmaa's night
    1,000 4-Yug period    =   1 Kalp - This is 7th Manvantar going on, means at this time
        7th Manu is ruling now.

In each Manvantar, different kings of Manu Vansh, Sapt Rishi, Dev Gan, Indra and his followers Gandharv, all enjoy their reign during that Manvantar. This is Brahmaa Jee's daily Tri-Lok's Creation in which all those 10 types of Creations are created according to their actions. During these 14 Manvantar, with the help of Sat Gun, Bhagavaan sustains this world in the form of Manu etc.

With Time when Brahmaa Jee's day ends, he with the help of Tam Gun stops his Creation and stays calm and then the whole Universe enters his body. At that time there is no Sun, there is no Moon, and there is only Pralaya darkness; then the Tri-Lok - Bhoo, Bhuvah, Swah - hide in Brahma Jee's body and they start burning with the heat of fire coming out from Shesh Naag's mouths. Because of that Bhrigu Rishi etc go from Mahar Lok to Jan Lok. Wind blows very strong and it shakes water of seven seas so that the Tri-Lok sinks in that water. That time Bhagavaan sleeps on Shesh Shayyaa on that water and all Rishi living in Jan Lok pray to Him.

Thus with this time speed, 100 years of Brahmaa Jee's age passes very quickly. Half of Brahmaa Jee's age (50 Brahmaa years) is called one Paraardh. Till now one Paraardh has passed and the second one is going on. In the beginning of previous Paraardh, there was a great Kalp named Braahm, in which Brahmaa Jee was born. In the end of the same Paraardh, there was the Kalp named Paadm Kalp in which the lotus appeared from the navel of Shree Bhagavaan. Hey Vidur Jee, The present Kalp is the beginning of the second Paraardh. This is famous as Varaah Kalp. In this Kalp Bhagavaan incarnated as Varaah (boar).

This two Paraardh period (100 Brahmaa years) is Bhagavaan's one Nimesh. This Nimesh, from  Paramaanu to two Paraardh, is all powerful, but still it does not control Shree Hari. This reigns only Jeev with physical body. This Brahmaand (Universe) is made of 10 Indriyaan, Man (mind), 5 elements, along with Prakriti, Mahat-Tattwa, Ahankaar and 5 Tanmaatraa, 8 Prakriti and is as large as 500 million Yojan from inside. Outside of this Brahmaand, there are seven covers which are 10 times larger than its previous one consecutively.

With all this vast area this Brahmaand looks like a Paramaanu in the place in which there are millions of other Brahmaand. Cause of all these Brahmaand is called Akshar Brahm and this is the form of Puraan Purush Paramaatmaa Shree Vishnu Bhagavaan."



Home  | Bhaagvat


Previous | Next

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/9/02
Updated on 06/09/11