Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan | 6-Shashth Ansh

1-Brahm Puraan2-Padm Puraan3-Vishnu Puraan4-Shiv Puraan5-Bhaagvat Puraan,
6-Naarad Puraan7-Maarkandeya Puraan8-Agni Puraan9-Bhavishya Puraan,
10-Brahm Vaivart Puraan11-Ling Puraan12-Varaah Puraan13-Skand Puraan,
14-Vaaman Puraan15-Koorm Puraan16-Matsya Puraan17-Garud Puraan18-Brahmaand Puraan


6-Shashth Ansh

Home | Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan


6-Shashth Ansh | Previous  | Next

Three Types of Taap
3-Vishnu Puraan - 6-Shashth Ansh - p 436-442

Three Types of Taap and Description of Bhagavaan Word

Paraashar Jee said - "Hey Maitreya, When one has known all the three Taap (sorrows) - Aadhyaatmic, Adhi daivik, and Adhi-bhautik (worldly), and Gyaan (knowledge) and Vairaagya (detachment) have arisen in his heart, then only one can attain Aatyantik Pralaya. 

(1) Aadhyaatmik Taap - Aadhyaatmik Taap are of two types - physical and mental. Physical Taap is of several kinds - all kinds of physical illnesses come in this category. Mental Taap are desires, anger, fear, envy, greed, Moh, sorrows, insult etc come in this category. (2) Aadhi-daivik Taap - Whatever Tap is got from heat, cold, rains, water, lightning etc is called Aadhi-daivik Taap (through Devtaa or nature). (3) Aadhi-bhautik Taap - Whatever Taap (pain, affliction, illnesses etc) is got from deer, birds, human beings, Pishaach, snakes, Raakshas, scorpions is called Aadhi-bhautik Taap. Whatever Taap are got from being in womb, birth, old age, ignorance, death, Hell etc are called Aadhyaatmik Taap.

When this tender body lies in circular form in womb, whatever mother eats it increases the pain, he cannot move his body parts, even at the time of birth he is smeared with all kinds of dirty things. As he come out, he falls like a worm. He does not have any strength to move any part of his body. He is dependent on others to satisfy his personal needs. At that time he does not know "from where I have come", "who am I", "where will I go", "what is Dharm and what is A-Dharm"? Thus he, like an animal, has to suffer through his ignorance.

Hey Dwij, A-Gyaan (ignorance) is Taamasik (see Gun) attribute (Vikaar or fault or impurity, or change) therefore A-Gyaanee people have the habit of doing Taamasik actions. By their Taamasik actions their Vaidik Karm disappear. Wise people tell that who does not do Karm, goes to Hell. Old age conditions also afflict him. He is always worried about his wife, children wealth etc. After he is dead, Yam's servants also trouble him. Then he has to bear the pains of Hell.

In fact these sorrows and pains are not only in Hell, but also are in Swarg too, because that also doesn't last long and after that he again starts his journey by taking birth till his next birth. Whoever is born has to die - in womb, or at the time of birth, or in childhood, or in young age, or in old age - no matter when. Hey Maitreya, In my opinion there is only one way to be free from these Aadhyaatmic sorrows - that is to attain Moksh. Therefore all people should try to attain Him only. Karm and Gyaan are the only two paths to attain Him.

Gyaan is of two types - one that which can be attained through Shaastra etc, and two that which can be attained by Vivek (Buddhi, or intellect). Gyaan of Shabd Brahm can be attained through Shaastra, but the Gyaan of Paar Brahm is through Vivek. A-Gyaan is like a dense darkness. To destroy this darkness, Shaastra Gyaan is like a lamp, but Vivek Gyaan is like Sun. Whatever Manu himself has said in this regard, I tell you now.

Brahm is of two types - Shabd Brahm and Par Brahm. When a seeker has attained Brahm Gyaan, then with the help of that Brahm Gyaan, he attains Par Brahm. Atharv Ved says that Vidyaa is of two types - Paraa and A-Paraa. Paraa Vidyaa gives the knowledge of Akshar Brahm and A-Paraa Vidyaa is from the three Ved. Fom whom this whole Universe has manifested and who is seen by wise people with their knowledge, He is Brahm. That form of Brahm is a synonym to Bhagavaan or Bhagavat.

Whose form is told like this, through whatever that form is known, that is called Paraa Vidyaa (Param Gyaan - means the ultimate knowledge). Three Ved Gyaan (Karm Kaand - path of action) is different from this. Although it is not proper to use any word for that Brahm, still Bhagavat word is used only to show respect to Him.

In this Bhagavat word, 'Bha' letter has two meanings - who has nourished everybody and who is the base of everything. 'Ga' means who gives the fruits of Karm and is Creator. So all riches (Aishwarya), Dharm, fame, Shree (auspiciousness), Gyaan (wisdom) and Vairaagya (detachment or dispassion) - these six are called 'Bhag'. In Him everybody lives, and He lives in everybody - that is the meaning of 'Vaan'. Thus this Bhagavaan word is the synonym of Vaasudev. Who knows about the creation and destruction of all beings, coming and going and Vidyaa and A-Vidyaa, only He is worthy to be called Bhagavaan. Except the three Gun and their sorrows - Gyaan, power, strength, Aishwarya etc all good qualitative words are synonyms of Bhagavat.

Because everybody lives in Him, and He lives in all that is why He is called Vaasudev also. In earlier times when Khaandikya Janak asked about this, Keshidhwaj said thus - "Bhagavaan lives in all and all things live in Him that is why He is called Vaasudev. He is beyond all. He is beyond the nature of all, attributes of Prakriti. What is in between Prithvi and sky, it is all occupied by Him only. He takes forms according to His own desire and do good to all. He is all, He is One, He is hidden, He is manifested. By which He could be seen, that is called Gyaan (knowledge, or Paraa Vidyaa) and whatever is its opposite, it is A-Gyaan (A-Paraa Vidyaa, or ignorance, or darkness).



Home | Puraan | 3-Vishnu Puraan


6-Shashth Ansh | Previous | Next

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/05
Updated on 05/16/13