Puraan | Notes

1-Brahm Puraan2-Padm Puraan3-Vishnu Puraan4-Shiv Puraan5-Bhaagvat Puraan,
6-Naarad Puraan7-Maarkandeya Puraan8-Agni Puraan9-Bhavishya Puraan,
10-Brahm Vaivart Puraan11-Ling Puraan12-Varaah Puraan13-Skand Puraan,
14-Vaaman Puraan15-Koorm Puraan16-Matsya Puraan17-Garud Puraan18-Brahmaand Puraan



Home | Puraan | Notes

Puraan's Characteristics

Back to Notes

Puraan's Characteristics
Taken from  Bhaagvat Puraan, 12/3

Maharshi have told ten characteristics of a Puraan according to Ved and Shaastra, According to them the followings should be in a Puraan to call it a Puraan, they are - Vishwa Sarg, Visarg, Vritti, Rakshaa, Manvantar, Vansh, Vanshaanucharit, Sansthaa (Pralaya), Hetu (Ooti), and Apaashraya. Some tell only five but both are correct, because Mahaa-Puraan (large Puraan) have all the ten, while the short ones have only five. Now you listen to those ten characteristics -

(1) When Gun get Kshobh in Mool Prakriti, then Mahat-Tattwa appears and from that appear three types of Ahankaar - Sat, Raj and Tam; and from these three Ahankaar appear Panch-Tanmaatraa, Indriyaan and pleasures. This creation is called Sarg.

(2) By the grace of Parameshwar, Mahat Tattwa attain the power of creation and create this world in its physical form according to their previous actions is called Visarg.

(3) Moving living beings live on non-moving things including the milk of moving living beings. Among them some have been prescribed by Shaastra and some have been decided by the living beings themselves. This is called Vritti.

(4) Bhagavaan takes Avataar in various forms to do Leelaa to protect the world, that is why it is called Rakshaa.

(5) In whatever time there are these six things - Manu, Devta, Manu's sons, Indra, Sapt Rishi and Bhagavaan's Ansh Avataar, that duration of period is called Manvantar.

(6) Whoever kings are born from Brahmaa Jee, the description of those kings and their descendents, is called Vansh.

(7) The description of those people's lives, is called Vanshaanucharit.

(8) This Brahmaand ends in Pralaya, and Pralaya is of four types - Naimittik, Praakritik, Nitya and Aatyantik, they are called Sansthaa.

(9) This Jeev is Hetu [cause=Kaaran] because this is the cause of Sarg and Visarg. Under the influence of A-Vidyaa (ignorance) he has involved himself in Karm.

(10) Jeev's Vritti (nature) is of three types - conscious, sub-conscious, and unconscious. Whosoever is beyond this Vritti, he becomes free from Karm Pravritti and is called Brahm or Apaashraya.



Home | Puraan | Notes


Back to Notes

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/05
Updated on 05/31/13