Shiv Jee | Shiv | Rudra

Om Namah Shivaaya

Home | Shiv


Previous | Next


Rudra is the Vaidik Devtaa. There are 11 Rudra, their names are as below -

(1) Raivat,  (2) Aj,  (3) Bhava,  (4) Bheem,  (5) Vaam,  (6) Vrishakapi (Viroopaaksh),  (7) Ajaikapaad,  (8) Ahirbudhni,  (9) Bahuroop,  or Ugratap or Patrataap,  and  (11) Mahaan.

Meaning of Rudra
All Hindu know that Shiv is called Rudra a;so, but perhaps very few know the meaning of this word. Here its meaning is quoted from Shiv Puraan 6-9-14 as given below:

Rur duhkham duhkha hetum va tad dravayati yah prabhuh
rudra ityuchyate tasmat Shivah param Kaaranam

Meaning - Rur is sorrow or the reason for getting sorrow. The Lord who destroys that is called Rudra who is Shiv.

1. Patrataap

2. Shiv and Rudra

3. How Shiv Got the Name Rudra?



Home | Shiv


Previous | Next

Created and Maintained by Sushma Gupta
Created on March 15, 2003 and Updated on November 26, 2013