Shani Dev Kee Mahimaa

Shani Dev

Home | Shani Dev | Index to Shani


Back to 1-Sun

To know more read     Vishnu Puraan, 3/2

Paraashar Jee said to Maitreya - "Hey Maitreya, Ved has thousands of branches. In every Dwaapar Yug, Bhagavaan Vishnu appears as Vyaas and divides one Ved into many. He does that because He knows that human mind is not strong enough to understand it wholly. By which physical body He does that, its name is Ved Vyaas. In each Dwaapar Yug of Vaivaswat Manvantar, Vyaas Rishi has already divided Ved, that is 28 times till present. (This means that in this present Manvantar, 27 Chatur-Yug have passed and this is Kali Yug of the 28th 4-Yug period).

In the beginning of the Creation, Ved, born from Bhagavaan, consisted of 100,000 (1 Lakh) Mantra. That Ved propagated Agnihotra etc and 10 types of Yagya which fulfilled human desires etc. In 28th Dwaapar Yug, my son Krishn Dwaipaayan divided it in four parts. This Ved is divided in the same way as Krishn Dwaipaayan did in all Chatur-Yug. I also did in the same way. Know Krishn Dwaipaayan as Naaraayan Himself, because who else can write Mahaabhaarat like Granth (huge book) in the whole world?

How did he divide that, now you listen to that. He selected four Rishi as his disciples. He taught Rig Ved to Pail Rishi, Yajur Ved to Vaishampaayan Jee, Saam Ved to Gemini, and Atharv Ved to Sumantu. Besides, he selected Romharshan from a Soot family to teach Itihaas (history) and Puraan.

In earlier times, Yajur Ved was only one. He divided it in four parts that is how it introduced Chaaturhotra method, which in turn became the foundation of Yajur Ved. Vyaas Jee established the Karm of Adhwaryu from Yajur Ved, Hotaa from Rig Ved, Udgaataa from Saam Ved and Brahmaa from Atharv Ved. After this he compiled Rig Ved and Yajur Ved from Yajur Shruti; and Saam Ved from Saam Shruti. Atharv Ved describes King's Karm and Brahm Gyaan (knowledge).

Thus Ved Vyaas Jee divided Ved in four parts, then a lot of other parts were also created out of those parts. First, Pail divided Rig Ved into two parts and taught them to Indrapramiti and Baashkal. Then Baashkal divided his own part into four parts and taught them to his four disciples - Bodhya, Aagnimaadhak, Yaagyavalkya and Paraashar. Indrapramiti taught his own part to his son Maandukeya.

Being the disciple, Shaakalya Vedmitra also learned that Sanhitaa and divided it in five parts. He taught them to Mudgal, Gomukh, Vaatusya, Shaaleeya, and Shareer.

Shukla and Taittireeya Yajur Ved

Vyaas' disciple Vaishampaayan Jee divided Yajur Ved in 27 branches and taught them to his disciples. He had a very religious, pious and faithful disciple named Yaagyavalkya (Vaajsaneya's son). At one time all Rishi decided that whoever will not attend the meeting of those Rishi he will attach to Brahm Hatyaa (killing of a Braahman) sin. Only one Rishi didn't attend it - and that was Vaishampaayan. After this, in sheer madness, Vaishampaayan Jee killed his nephew (sister's son) and asked his disciples to do something which could free him from this Brahm Hatyaa. At this his disciple Yaagyavalkya said - "Bhagavan, There is no need to trouble all of them, they are not so strong, I alone will do this Vrat." Guru Viashampaayan Jee got very angry at this and said to Yaagyavalkya - "You have insulted Braahman, so leave everything whatever you have learned from me here. You are calling all good Braahman weak? I don't have to do anything with you." Yaagyavalkya said - "I said all this because of my devotion to you. I also don't have to do anything with you, so take this whatever I have learned from you."

Paraashar said - "Hey Maitrya Jee, And Yaagyavalkya spitted out the whole Yajur Ved smeared with blood and went away. Other Rishi took that Ved assuming the form of Teetar (Tittir), that is why they all were called Tattireeya. After this Yaagyavalkya worshipped Soorya Bhagavaan with the desire of obtaining Yajur Ved. [Soory's prayer is given on Vishnu Puraan, p 175-176, Shlok 16-25). Pleased with the prayer of Yaagyavalkya, Soorya appeared in the form of a horse and said - "Ask your desired Var." Yaagyavalkya said - "Discourse me on Yajur Ved and even those Shruti of Yajur Ved which are not known to my Guru." Then Soorya discoursed him "Ayaatyaam" named Yajur Shruti. Whoever Braahman learned them were called "Baajee", because Soorya Dev discoursed on them in the form of a horse. These Shruti have 15 branches and all branches are said to be introduced by Yaagyavalkya Jee."



Home | Shani Dev | Index to Shani


Back to 1-Sun

Created by Sushma Gupta on 8/9/2008
Updated on 06/09/11