Dictionary Of Hindu Religion | History


Home | Rel-Dictionary | History


Back to AD-6

29-Indian History-AD-6 (1764-1947)

India has a continuous civilization since 2500 BC. During the 2nd millennium, Aryan speaking tribes migrated from northwest into the Indian subcontinent. The following material has been taken from "A New History of India", by Stanley Wolpert. 2004.

British Staff (1764-1947 AD) - 211 years

Although many people came from Britain to India, but here are given some important names withou whom history is not completed. They had their capital in Bangaal from 1858 (2nd August) to 1912.Later they moved to Dehlee and stayed there till they left in 1947 (15 August).

Names Period Works
James Andrew Brown-Ramsey
(Apr 22, 1812-Dec 9, 1860)
Jan 12, 1848-Mar 6, 1856 Governor-General, Governor of Bangaal
Charles Canning Nov 1, 1858-Mar 21, 1862  
Lord Richard Colley Wellesley
Jun 20, 1760-Sep 26, 1842
Robert Clive
(Sep 29, 1725-Nov 22, 1774)
1744-1753;  1755-1760;  
May 3, 1765-Feb 1767
As a "Writer" in East India Company
Deputy Governor of Fort St David, Madraas
Battle of Plaasee with Siraaju-ud-Daulaa of Bangaal in 1757.
Warren Hastings    
Marquess Wellesley 1798-1805 Governor-General of India
Lord Charles Cornwallis
(Dec 31, 1738-Oct 5, 1805)
Governor-General of India
Governor-General of India
The Earl of Mayo Jan 12, 1869-Feb 8, 1872 Viceroy
Lord Curzon Jan 6, 1899-Nov 18, 1905  
Lord Minto Nov 18, 1905-Nov 23, 1910 Education Board, Railway Board
Lord Hardinge Nov 23, 1910-Apr 4, 1916 India High Courts Act, Factories Act, Constuction of Delhi
Lord Chelmsford Apr 4, 1916-Apr 2, 1921 Jaliyaan Vaalaa Baag, University of Rangoon (1920)
Lord Reading Apr 2, 1921-Apr 3 1926 University of Delhi (1922),
Lord Willington Apr 18, 1931-Apr 18, 1936 New Dehlee as Capital of India (1931),
Creation of Reserve Bank of India
Lord Linlithgow Apr 18, 1936-Oct 1, 1943 Burmaa independent (1937)
Lord Mountbatten Feb 21, 1947-Aug 15, 1947 India Independence Act (1947), Partition of India, India Office changed to Burma Office

Some Main Events of British Raaj (1619-1947) - 250 years
(1) First British outpost was established at Soorat, on the northwestern coast in 1619. Later in the century it opened permanent trading stations at Madras, Bombay and Calcutta each under the protection of native rulers. The Company established in Calcuttaa in 1690 and got the rights to collect land revenue in Bangaal in just 11 years, in 1701.

1757-1774 - Robert Clive and Battle of Plaasee
Battle of Plaasee - In June 1757, Robert Clive defeated Nawaab Siraajuddaulaa, 20 year old Nawaab, of Bangaal. The battlefield was Plaassee (modern Palaashee), about 100 kms north of Calcuttaa. Although battle was not very big, but Clive took eight years to take over the management of the revenues of the whole of Bangaal. In 1788, after 100 years of Battle of Plaasee, Calcuttaa, which was just a collection of villages became the chief city of east India with a population of a quarter of a million.

1774-1793 - Hastings and Cornwallis
Warren Hastings, (Governor General, 1774-1785)
Lord Cornwallis (Governor General, 1786-1793) - He was responsible for putting Europeans in charge of all the higher levels of revenue collection and administration and for introducing government by the rule of law, making even government officers subject to the courts.

(2) By 1850s they controlled most parts of present India - India, Paakistaan, Banglaa Desh.
(3) In 1857, a rebellion (Mangal Paandey) in north India, led by mutinous Indian soldiers, caused the British Parliament to transfer all political power from the East India Company to the crown.
(4) Beginning in 1920, Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi transformed the Indian National Congress political party into a mass movement to campaign against British rule. The Party used both parliamentary and nonviolent resistance and non-cooperation to achieve independence.



Home | Rel-Dictionary | History


Back to AD-6

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/06
Updated on 11/17/12