Ved | Sookt


Home | Ved | Sookt

Other Sookt

Previous | Next

Other Sookt in Rig Ved

Grihya Sootra
Every Braahman belongs to one or other of the numerous Gotra mentioned in Pravar and Gotra Kaand. All the religious rites are preformed according to the Grihya Sootra pertaining to their Shaakhaa or Ved. Of these, there are eight kinds now in vogue -

Ashwalaayan Sootra of the Rig Ved.
Aapastambh (Bharadwaaj, Bodhayaan) Sootra of the Krishn Yajur Ved.
Satyashada (Vaikhaanas, Kaatyaayan) Sootra of the Shukla Yajur Ved.
Drahyayan Sootra of Saam Ved

All Braahman claim descent from one or more of the following seven Rishi  -  Atri, Bhrigu, Kutsa, Vashishth, Gautam, Kashyap, Aangiras.
According to some, these Rishi are Agastya, Aangiras, Atri, Bhrigu, Kashyap, Vashishth, and Gautam.

There is Kathak Grihya Sootra also where Kaalee Devee is being mentioned.

Hiranyagarbh Sookt
In Hiranyagarbh Sookt of Rig Ved, every Rik has a clause "Kasmai Devaaya Havishaa Vidhem"; and it gives different meanings in different contexts of each Rik. So every time it gives the process related to Creation, Sustenance and Manifestation, thereby asks who is behind all these and whom we have to worship with oblations.


Home | Ved | Sookt


Previous | Next

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/06
Updated on 12/06/12