Puraan | Notes

1-Brahm Puraan2-Padm Puraan3-Vishnu Puraan4-Shiv Puraan5-Bhaagvat Puraan,
6-Naarad Puraan7-Maarkandeya Puraan8-Agni Puraan9-Bhavishya Puraan,
10-Brahm Vaivart Puraan11-Ling Puraan12-Varaah Puraan13-Skand Puraan,
14-Vaaman Puraan15-Koorm Puraan16-Matsya Puraan17-Garud Puraan18-Brahmaand Puraan



Home | Puraan | Notes


Back to Notes

Soorya Dev (Sun)

Sun's vehicle is a chariot which has only one wheel, called Samvatsar. This wheel has 12 spokes which symbolize for 12 months. The wheel has six circumferences which symbolize for six seasons, and three navels which symbolize the three 4-months time. The sages and all celestials supernatural beings move along with him doing his worship.

Sun Calendar    = 365 days - 5 hours - 48 minutes - 46 seconds
Lunar Month     = 29 days - 12 hours - 44 minutes - 3 seconds X 12 =
Lunar Calendar = 354 days - 8 hours - 48 minutes - 36 seconds

To help Lunar months coincide with the solar year: 
the practice is to insert one extra month (Adhik Maas) every 30 months or every 2 1/2 years: so 60 solar months = 62 Lunar months

Chandra Dev (Moon)

According to Bhaagvat Puraan and Vishnu Puraan, Moon is the son of Atri and Anusooyaa. He is all pervading. He possesses 16 phases (Kalaa). Krishn also had 16 Kalaa. He was the descendent of Moon god combined with all 16 Kalaa like him. Moon was married to 27 daughters  of Daksh who are known as Nakshatra or constellations.
Harivansh Puraan]

According to Van Parv of Mahaabhaarat all wives of Moon are beautiful and chaste. Rohinee is the most beloved wife of Moon.

Budh (Mercury) is the son of Moon and Taaraa (wife of Brihaspati).



Home | Puraan | Notes


Back to Notes

Created by Sushma Gupta on 3/15/05
Updated on 05/31/13