Astrology | Planets


Home | Astrology | Planets


Back to Planets

Relationship Among Planets
Positions, Avasthaas 

[BPHS, Ch. 3, Sl. 55-58]
55. Natural Relationships - Note the Raashis, which are the 2nd, 4th, 5th, 8th, 9th and 12th from the Mool-trikon of a Graha. The Grahas ruling such Raashis are its friends, apart from the Lord of its exaltation Raashi. Lords other than these are its enemies. If a Graha becomes its friend as well, as its enemy (on account of the said two computations) , then it is neutral, or equal.

56. Temporary Relationships
- The Graha, posited in the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 10th, 11th, or the 12th from another, becomes a mutual friend. There is enmity otherwise. (This applies to a given Janm Kundalee)

57-58. Compound Relationship
- Should two Grahas be naturally and temporarily friendly, they become extremely friendly. Friendship on one count and neutrality on another count make them friendly. Enmity on one count combined with affinity on the other turns into equality. Enmity and neutralship cause only enmity. Should there be enmity in both manners, extreme enmity is obtained. The Jyotishee should consider these and declare horoscopic effects accordingly.

59-60. Ratio of Effects - A Graha in exaltation gives fully good effects, while in Mooltrikona it is bereft of its auspicious effects by one fourth. It is half beneficial in its own Bhaav. Its beneficence is one fourth in a friendly Raashi. In an equal's Raashi one eighth of auspicious disposition is useful. The good effects are nil in debilitation, or enemy's camp. Inauspicious effects are quite reverse with reference to what is stated.

[Phal Deepikaa, Ch. 2]
23. Planets are mutually friendly for the time being when they occupy the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 10th, 11th and 12th houses from one another. (This means that planets occupying the 1st, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th from one another are mutually inimical). After taking into account the natural friendship and enmity, it should be deduced whether they are friendly, very friendly, neutral, inimical and very inimical to one another.

35. Mercury, Saturn and Venus are the friends of Raahu and Ketu. Mars is neutral to them. The rest are enemies.

Permanent & Temporary Relationships Among Planets

Each Graha is related to another Graha in a particular manner: it can be a friendly, a neutral or a unfriendly relationship. There are permanent (constant) relationships and temporary relationships among Graha.

If two Grahas are Yuti with each other (in wide, close or exact conjunction) it is important if they are mutual friends, mutually neutral or mutual enemies.

Explanation of Natural/Permanent Relationship
Natural relationships among planets are defined in BPHS 3 as follows:

55. Natural Relationships
- Note the Raashi, which are the 2nd, 4th, 5th, 8th, 9th and 12th from the Mool Trikon of a Graha. The Graha ruling such Raashi are its friends, apart from the Lord of its exaltation Raashi. Lords other than these are its enemies. If a Graha becomes its friend as well, as its enemy (on account of the said two computations) , then it is neutral, or equal."

The Mool-trikon of a Graha: Mool Trikon is the root of a graha's energy in the zodiac, the sign - exactly a part within a particular Raashi - to whom a Graha is most closely connected with.

Mool Trikon are:
The Sun:       0-20 Leo
Moon:           3-30 Taurus (!)
Mars:           0-12 Aries
Mercury:      15-20 Virgo
Jupiter:       0-10 Sagittarius
Venus:          0-15 Libra
Saturn:        0-20 Aquarius
Raahu:          Gemini
Ketu:            Sagittarius

Note: Avasthaa of a planet in his Mool Trikon is called 'Sukhit'.

Note: Raahu's Mool Trikon is in my view 640'-20 Gemini, Aardraa Nakshatra,
Ketu's Mool Trikon in 0-1320' Sagittarius, Mool Nakshatra.
Uranus's, Neptune's and Pluto's Mool Trikon are the same as Mercury's, Venus' and Mars' Mool Trikon, respectively.

Constant/Permanent Relationship Among Grahas is derived from Moolatrikona position as explained in BPHS.
permanent friends: Moon, Mars, Jupiter
neutral: Mercury
permanent enemies: Venus, Saturn

permanent friends: The Sun, Mercury
neutral: Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
permanent enemies: -

permanent friends: The Sun, Moon, Jupiter
neutral: Venus, Saturn
permanent enemies: Mercury

permanent friends: The Sun, Venus
neutral: Mars, Jupiter, Saturn
permanent enemies: Moon

permanent friends: The Sun, Moon, Mars
neutral: Saturn
permanent enemies: Mercury, Venus

permanent friends: Mercury, Saturn
neutral: Mars, Jupiter
permanent enemies: Moon, The Sun

permanent friends: Mercury, Venus
neutral: Jupiter
permanent enemies: The Sun, Moon, Mars

permanent friends: Moon, Venus, Saturn
neutral: Mercury
permanent enemies: The Sun, Mars, Jupiter

permanent friends: The Sun, Moon, Mars
neutral: Jupiter, Saturn
permanent enemies: Mercury, Venus

Explanation of Temporary Relationships:
Planets in 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 12th, 11th, 10th from a Graha are temporary friends.
Planets in all other Bhavas (including in same Bhava!) are temporary enemies.

The compound/combined relationship among two planets is derived from summing up permanent and temporary relationships, leading to different types of Avasthaa:

permanent friend + temporary friend = great friend (Pramudit Avasthaa)
permanent neutral + temporary friend = friend (Shaant Avasthaa)
permanent friend + temporary enemy = neutral (Deen Avasthaa)
permanent neutral + temporary enemy = enemy (Dukhit Avasthaa)
permanent enemy + temporary enemy = great enemy (Khal Avasthaa)

Explanation of the Natural Relationships of Raahu and Ketu
Raahu - Gemini:
1st    -    Gemini         - Mercury     -     enemy
2nd   -    Cancer        -  Moon           -     friend
3rd   -    Leo              -  Sun             -      enemy
4th    -   Virgo           -  Mercury      -      friend
5th    -   Libra           -  Venus           -      friend
6th    -   Scorpio        - Mars           -       enemy
7th    -   Sagittarius   - Jupiter         -     enemy
8th    -   Capricorn      - Saturn         -     friend
9th    -   Aquarius        - Saturn         -    friend
10th    -  Pisces            - Jupiter       -     enemy
11th    -  Aries            - Mars            -     enemy
12th   -  Taurus          - Venus           -      friend

Ketu - Sagittarius:
1st       Sagittarius    - Jupiter  - enemy
2nd      Capricorn      - Saturn   - friend
3rd     Aquarius         - Saturn   - enemy
4th      Pisces            - Jupiter  - friend
5th      Aries             - Mars     - friend
6th      Taurus           - Venus     - enemy
7th       Gemini          - Mercury  - enemy
8th       Caner           - Moon       - friend
9th       Leo               - Sun         - friend
10th     Virgo             - Mercury  - enemy
11th      Libra             - Venus      - enemy
12th     Scorpio          - Mars       - friend



Home | Astrology | Planets


Back to Planets

Created and Maintained by Sushma Gupta
Created on 05/18/2008 and Updated on 01/13/2013